The 2011 CWA International Dagger Shortlist


Regular or occasional readers of this blog can check here the 2011 CWA International Dagger Shortlist. You can also find below my posts on 5 of the 7 candidates. I’m planning to read soon The Saint-Florentin Murders by Jean-François Parot, my last acquisition, but  River of Shadows by Valerio Varesi does not appeal to me.

 

I’ve very much enjoyed reading Camilleri, Vargas, Villar and Mallo, but if I have to pick up a favourite this will be Needle in a Haystack by Ernesto Mallo.

This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 2011 CWA International Dagger Shortlist

  1. Norm/Uriah says:

    We agree! Maxine and I picked the Mallo and Spanish isn’t our first language so you can discount any bias. ;o)

  2. kathy d. says:

    Question as to why you don’t want to read River of Shadows?

    • Jose Ignacio says:

      Kathy, thank you very much for your comment. The main reason why I choose not to read Varesi’s “Valley of Shadows” is the lack of time to finish it before the announcement of the winner is made. I have too many books on my TBR list and I would have to buy it. There is also a cheaper paperback edition to be released later on this year and the synopsis did not suit my taste.

  3. kathy d. says:

    Oh, okay. I wondered as I know you try to read much that’s nominated or being discussed on major crime fiction blogs.
    Yes, that may happen to me, too, as the last time I looked for this book to order, it was nearly US $50, way too much for one book.
    I’ll look for your review later on and if the price goes to a reasonable level later in the year, I’ll get it. My library system just does not get enough global mystery fiction for us avid readers.

Leave a Reply

