Monthly Summary (April 2014)


What I Read in April 2014

  • The City of Shadows (Avon, 2012) by Michael Russell (A+)
  • La luna de papel (Ediciones Salamandra, 2007) Traducción de Maria Antonio Menini Pagés. Título original: La luna di carta (The Paper Moon), de Andrea Camilleri (A)
  • Death Can’t Take a Joke (The Friday Project, 2014) by Anya Lipska (A)
  • The Pledge (University of Chicago Press, 2006). Translated by Joel Agee. Originally published as Das Versprechen: Requiem auf den Kriminalroman, 1958, by Friedrich Dürrenmatt (A+)
  • The Concrete Blonde (Orion, 1998) Reissued 2009. First published in 1994, by Michael Connelly (A)
  • Crónica de una muerte anunciada (Editorial Bruguera, 1981) by Gabriel García Márquez. English title: Chronicle of a Death Foretold (A+)
  • In The Morning I’ll Be Gone (Serpent’s Tail, 2014) by Adrian McKinty (A)

Pick of the Month

A tough one. I have very much enjoyed all the books I read this month. Three of them got the highest mark in my book. Therefore I’ll just leave it there and I’ll recommend any one of all the books I read, depending on your mood at the time.

See also what other fellow bloggers have to say at Mysteries in Paradise

Books Bought Last Month

  • Los milaneses matan en sábado de Giorgio Scerbanenco,
  • Dead Line by Chris Ewan
  • La mala dona de Marc Pastor
  • SHETLAND: Dead Water by Ann Cleeves
  • In the Morning I’ll be Gone by Adrian McKinty
  • Sacrifices by Roger Smith
  • The Reversal by Michael Connelly
  • Clavos en el corazón by Danielle Thiéry

Currently Reading

  • Graveland (Faber & Faber, 2013) by Alan Glynn

Wish List (10)

  • The A26 by Pascal Garnier
  • The City of Strangers by Michael Russell
  • I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes
  • Someone to Watch Over Me by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
  • Entry Island by Peter May
  • The Sudden Arrival of Violence by Malcolm Mackay
  • Dead Lions by Mick Herron
  • Strange Shores (Reykjavik Murder Mysteries 9) by Arnaldur Indridason
  • The Facts of Life and Death by Belinda Bauer
  • Free Falling, As If in a Dream: The Story of a Crime by Leif Gw Persson

Eagerly Awaited

  • Cobra by Deon Meyer
  • The Murder of Harriet Krohn by Karin Fossum
  • Euro Noir: The Pocket Essential Guide to Euroean Crime Fiction, Film & TV (Pocket Essential Series) by Barry Forshaw
This entry was posted in miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monthly Summary (April 2014)

  1. MarinaSofia says:

    Some really good reads this month, no wonder it’s hard to choose. You inspired me to order some Durrenmatt, by the way, so thank you for adding to my TBR pile! I’ve received in German The Judge and his Hangman and Suspicion (or The Quarry).

  2. TracyK says:

    I have been wanting to read The Pledge by Dürrenmatt. I thought it might be too much of a downer or too tense. You have now convinced me to try it, especially since it is so short (comparatively). I did not know the background of how it was written. That was especially interesting.

  3. Col says:

    Jose, looks like another good month for you, with some good reading planned ahead.

  4. Sarah says:

    I have months like this to Jose, when I can’t choose a favourite. You seem to be having a productive reading period.

  5. Loving the look of your upcoming books, I want to read The Facts of Life and Death as I’ve really enjoyed Belinda Bauer’s previous books. I also have Someone to Watch Over Me on the TBR and Entry Island is just as wonderful to read as the Lewis Trilogy.

  6. Your review of The Pledge made a big impression on me too, as with Tracy. I also bought and read City of Shadows based on your review, and will be blogging about it soon. I see you are moving onto the next in the series – I’ll look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

