Last Laugh Award

The Last Laugh Award is for the best humorous crime novel first published in the British Isles in 2011. The nominees were:

– Declan Burke for Absolute Zero Cool (Liberties Press)
– Colin Cotterill for Killed at the Whim of a Hat (Quercus)
– Chris Ewan for The Good Thief’s Guide to Venice (Simon & Schuster)
– Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May and the Memory of Blood (Doubleday)
– Carl Hiaasen for Star Island (Sphere)
– Doug Johnstone for Smokeheads (Faber and Faber)
– Elmore Leonard for Djibouti (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
– L.C. Tyler for Herring on the Nile (Macmillan)

And the winner was Declan Burke for Absolute Zero Cool (Liberties Press).

I have AZC in my Kindle and I’ve scheduled to read it soon. Stay tuned.

Information taken from CrimeFest Awards.

2 thoughts on “Last Laugh Award”

  1. Thanks, Jose Igacio, for this news. I haven’t read any of these as I’m not that keen on funny crime novels (or funny novels in general though I have enjoyed a few on occasion). I did like Declan Burke’s The Big O but not sure I’d like an “existential” comic novel…..maybe I’ll be a better judge when I read your review….

    1. You are welcome Maxine. I don’t mind reading a funny crime novel every know and then. Glad you enjoyed The Big O, and thanks for your confidence

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: