International Dagger Speculation (2014)


Karen at Euro Crime provides HERE a detailed list of translated crime novels published between June 2013 and May 2014, ie the period of eligibility.

So far I’ve read:

  1. The Good Suicides by Antonio Hill
  2. Cold Courage by Pekka Hiltunen
  3. Cold Hearts by Gunnar Staalesen
  4. Death of the Demon by Anne Holt 
  5. The Long Shadow by Liza Marklund 
  6. Police by Jo Nesbo

    On my TBR list:

      1. Brother Kemal by Jakob Arjouni 
      2. The Strangler’s Honeymoon by Hakan Nesser 
      3. He Who Kills the Dragon by Leif GW Persson

        On my Wishlist:

          1. The Disappeared by Kristina Ohlsson
          2. The Second Deadly Sin by Asa Larsson  
          3. Bad Blood by Arne Dahl
          4. Strange Shores by Arnaldur Indridason 
          5. Closed for Winter by Jorn Lier Horst 
          6. The Treasure Hunt by Andrea Camilleri

            Forthcoming:

              1. Guilt by Jussi Adler-Olsen
              2. Scarred by Thomas Enger
              3. Irene by Pierre Lemaitre
              4. The Son by Jo Nesbo
              5. Dog Will Have His Day by Fred Vargas
              6. Cobra by Deon Meyer

                Have also caught my attention:

                  • Mapuche by Caryl Ferey
                  • The Frozen Dead by Bernard Minier
                  • The Dark Angel by Dominique Sylvain
                  13 thoughts on “International Dagger Speculation (2014)

                  1. I know it’s good that there are so many translated books being published these days but boy it’s hard to keep up with! Like you I’ve only read 6 of the eligible titles so far (a different 6 of course) and I’m about half-way through the Asa Larsson book (jolly good it is too). I do hope to squeeze in a few more before the deadline too.

                    1. You’re quite right Bernadette, it’s hard to keep up with. Anyway my aim is to read at least another six prior to the announcement of the shortlist and, hopefully, read all the books in the shortlist before the winner is revealed.

                  2. I’ve read one and have none of the others waiting, though there’s a few I’d like. If pushed to limiting my options to getting just one, it would be Deon Meyer for me.

                  3. Such great books on your list! Can I give an additional vote to the ‘three French that also caught your eye’? The Frozen Dead is perfect wintertime reading, very atmospheric setting in the Pyrenees, while Caryl Ferey is a strong writer. Haven’t read The Dark Angel, but can recommend Dominique Sylvain also.

                  4. I’ve read just 5 of these and have a couple waiting to be read. I think my favourite so far is Holt’s ‘Death of the Demon’ and I’m looking forward to Yoshida’s ‘Parade’ – I enjoyed his last one ‘Villain’.

                  5. The list is daunting: I keep on trying to figure out what I’d like to read on the list, but it’s very time-consuming or I have a short attention span when I’m online. I’ve read six on the list, I have Spring Tide ready to read, and I’d like to catch up on Asa Larsson as well.

                  6. Jose – thank you so much for the various author lists you’ve posted. Found several “new to me” ones.

                  Leave a Reply

                  