The Petrona Award Shortlist for 2014


The 2014 Petrona Award shortlist for the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year has been announced. You can check the information HERE, HERE, HERE and HERE. At The Game’s Afoot I have read only one, LINDA, AS IN THE LINDA MURDER by Leif G W Persson tr. Neil Smith (Doubleday), my review is available with a click in the title, though I read it in Spanish translated by Carmen Montes Cano. In my TBR list I already have THE WEEPING GIRL by Håkan Nesser tr. Laurie Thompson (Mantle), and I’m planning to read it soon, stay tuned.

The rest of the books are all in my wish list: CLOSED FOR WINTER by Jørn Lier Horst tr. Anne Bruce (Sandstone Press), STRANGE SHORES by Arnaldur Indriðason tr. Victoria Cribb (Harvill Secker), SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir tr. Philip Roughton (Hodder & Stoughton) and LIGHT IN A DARK HOUSE by Jan Costin Wagner tr. Anthea Bell (Harvill Secker). I will try to read them all by the time the winner is announced in order to give my opinion beforehand.

4 thoughts on “The Petrona Award Shortlist for 2014

  1. Jose Ignacio- I will be very interested in your opinion. Having read four of the six they do seem rather depressingly dark choices, apart from Linda which had some satirical humour. I won’t read Someone to Watch Over Me as the subject would be too difficult for me.

    • Norman – Thank you very much for your comment. I feel much honoured, coming from you, By the way, I was wondering whether I should read Linda in English. Sometimes a different translation makes quite a difference. I’m also quite excited since I’ve downloaded today in Spanish The Dying Detective one of Persson’s best novels to date, according to Persson’s page at Salomonsson Agency.

Leave a Reply

