Monthly Summary (May 2014)


What I Read in May 2014

  • Graveland (Faber & Faber, 2013) Kindle Edition by Alan Glynn (A+)
  • Sacrifices (Tin Town, 2013) Kindle Edition by Roger Smith (B)
  • Saints of the Shadow Bible (Orion Books, 2013) Hardback Edition by Ian Rankin (A+)
  • I Am Pilgrim (Transworld Publishers, 2013) by Terry Hayes (C) My review to follow

Pick of the Month

By a narrow margin my preference goes to Saints of the Shadow Bible by Ian Rankin 

Check out at Mysteries in Paradise other fellow bloggers pick of the month

Books Bought Last Month

  • Stone Cold by C.J. Box
  • Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford
  • I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes
  • The Song Dog by James McClure
  • A Delicate Truth by John le Carré
  • On Beulah Height by Reginald Hill
  • In Matto’s Realm by Friedrich Glauser

Currently Reading

  • The Song Dog by James McClure

Wish List (9)

  • The A26 by Pascal Garnier
  • The City of Strangers by Michael Russell
  • Entry Island by Peter May
  • The Sudden Arrival of Violence by Malcolm Mackay
  • Dead Lions by Mick Herron 
  • What You Have Left: The Turner Trilogy by James Sallis
  • The Facts of Life and Death by Belinda Bauer
  • The Murder of Harriet Krohn by Karin Fossum
  • Euro Noir: The Pocket Essential Guide to Euroean Crime Fiction, Film & TV (Pocket Essential Series) by Barry Forshaw

Eagerly Awaited

  • Cobra by Deon Meyer

6 thoughts on “Monthly Summary (May 2014)

  1. I am in the middle of I AM PILGRIM and I will wait until I finish to read your review. DEAD LIONS and EURO NOIR are on my wish list too, although I want to finish SLOW HORSES first. Great group of lists, as usual.

  2. I must read the Rankin and the Glynn. I’m glad to see your rating of I Am Pilgrim because it didn’t seem worth my time or effort (long books are hard for me now), and now I’ll definitely skip it.
    I want to ask a question about mysteries written by Spanish authors. A friend who reads Spanish just finished one of Villar’s books, and I was attempting to tell him about the many
    mysteries published in Spain.
    I’m looking at your Blog Roll and want to send him a few links so he can read reviews,
    and wonder what are the best links to send him. Also, you often review books published
    there or in Latin America. How could I find those reviews easily?
    Thanks a lot.

    • From South America Ernesto Mallo is one of my favourites. Just type his name in Search at The Game’s Afoot. From Cube Leonardo Padura is another one of my favourites. From Spain Domingo Villar obviously and would suggest to check the names of other author at Euro Crime like Teresa Solana, Antonio Hill, Alicia Giménez Bartlett and Eugenio Fuentes to name but a few. http://www.eurocrime.co.uk/books/books_Spain.html

Leave a Reply

