The 2014 Global Reading Challenge


The 2014 Global Reading Challenge (2014GRC), hosted by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise, offers a unique opportunity to expand your reading boundaries. You can check in the blog Challenge here, the rules and different levels of participation.

For my participation this year (Easy Challenge) I look forward to reading the following books:

Africa: The Song Dog by James McClure (currently reading)

Asia: My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

Australasia/Oceania: The Diggers Rest Hotel by Geoffrey McGeachin

Europe: In Matto’s Realm by Friedrich Glauser

North America: Visitation Street by Ivy Pochoda (click on the title to access my review)

South America: The Silence of the Rain by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza (currently reading)

The Seventh Continent: Pilgrim Soul by Gordon Ferris (set in the late 1940s)

I’ve tried to make sure there are all new-to-me authors. Stay tuned.

12 thoughts on “The 2014 Global Reading Challenge

  1. I like this idea. I’ll check it out properly when logged in at my laptop and maybe sign up. It will have to be the easy challenge for me as well. A great idea!

    • Actually it was Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen idea. Together with Kerrie they hosted the first edition of this Challenge back in 2010 if my memory is correct. Thanks Rebecca.

  2. Great choices – loved The Silence of the Rain and keep meaning to read more in the series, but they are hard to find over here. My Name Is Red is very oriental and ornate and Turkish indeed – not sure it’s crime fiction, perhaps like The Name of the Rose.
    I loved this challenge last year (went for the Medium level and very nearly didn’t make it!) I’m not taking part officially this year, but trying to keep an eye on it, as I love learning about new places.

  3. Looks like an interesting list, Jose Ignacio: I’ll keep an eye out for your reviews. And I like the new look of your blog– not sure how new it is since I usually read your posts via email.

  4. I also loved Visitation Street and bought a copy just to loan to friends. What a book!
    Pilgrim Soul was quite good for a lot of reasons. Because there are elderly Jews hunting for Nazis in 1947 Glasgow, I was even more interested, thinking of my Jewish immigrant relatives.
    I’ve read three books featuring Inspector Espinosa, including the one above by Garcia-Roza; I like the detective in this series.

  5. Nice list of books for the Global Challenge. I am doing that challenge too, but I haven’t yet kept track of which continents I have read. I like the idea of historical fiction for the 7th continent, although I could do sci fi or fantasy. I will check back to your list if I need suggestions.

Leave a Reply

