To Raven, With My Gratitude


I wish to show my gratitude to Raven at Raven Crime Reads for having granted this recognition to The Game’s Afoot, thank you very much, Raven.

blogger award

The rules for this meme are:

  1. Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  2. List the rules and display the award.
  3. Share seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
  5. Optional: display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Seven facts about myself:

  1. I am an early riser and my favourite reading hours are first thing in the morning.
  2. I carry my Kindle everywhere, to read at any time.
  3. Usually, I can’t start reading a new book without finishing the previous.
  4. Almost always I finish the books I start to read.
  5. I can hardly read in bed, I fall asleep in about fifteen minutes.
  6. I read Portuguese and Catalan besides English and Spanish-Castilian.
  7. I love messing about in bookshops.

Now I’m supposed to pass the award on to fifteen other bloggers. And, following Margot Kinberg example at Confessions of a Mystery Novelist…, I don’t want anyone to feel obliged to do so. Therefore, if you like to share seven things about yourself, just do it. And if you find your blog listed at the blog roll on my sidebar, just tell the world I’ve nominated you.   

16 thoughts on “To Raven, With My Gratitude

  1. José Ignacio – Congratulations on this richly-deserved award. And thank you very much for the kind mention. Like you, I go nowhere without my Kindle; it’s been one of my favourite purchases. And it is impressive that you read crime fiction in several languages. Lucky you not to have to wait until a book is published in just one language.

  2. Jose Ignacio, you are very deserving of this award. I love the variety here and I am so glad you focus on crime fiction, my favorite.

  3. kathy d.

    Ditto to what Bill said about reading late at night. I started doing that when I was 11 with a flashlight and kept it up. I can read all night until the morning if the book is interesting enough.
    Congratulations on the blog awards. It’s well-deserving.
    And thank you for educating me that Catalan is its own language; that’s important.

  4. Thanks Jose! You are obviously a dedicated reader and I admire greatly the dual language posts and your wide and varied reading. It would be lovely to have the time to read from sun up to sundown wouldn’t it? 🙂

    1. I’m not so sure about that Raven. There are other things in life that can be done in good company. 🙂 Write a blog, go to the cinema, go to a restaurant, go for a walk, …etc Just to name a few. But you’re right as someone said: I read so I can live more than one life in more than one place.

  5. Congratulations, Jose Ignacio. We do have 3,,4, 5, and 7 in common, although I fall asleep in 5 minutes or less 😉
    It must be complicated living in Spain when a post office in Santiago del Compostela had leaflets in so many Iberian languages including Galician, Basque, Catalan, Castilian, Valencian?

    1. Thank you Norman and glad we have that much in common. You also have some different languages in the UK 🙂 I studied at the University of Bangor, but I could not pick up a word in Welsh.

Leave a Reply

