Quirke (TV Series) Episode 1 – Christine Falls

https://i0.wp.com/www.bbcshop.com/content/ebiz/bbc/invt/bbcdvd3819/quirke_h_600.jpgQuirke is a British-Irish crime drama television series that was first broadcast on BBC One and RTÉ One in 2014. The three-part series is based on the novels by John Banville, writing under the pseudonym Benjamin Black and was adapted by screenwriters Andrew Davies and Conor McPherson.  

Cast List
Quirke – Gabriel Byrne
Malachy Griffin – Nick Dunning
Judge Garret Griffin – Michael Gambon
Phoebe – Aisling Franciosi
Sarah – Geraldine Somerville
Inspector Hackett – Stanley Townsend
Rose – Sara Stewart
Brenda Ruttledge – Janet Moran

Last weekend I have had the opportunity to watch the first episode, Christine Falls directed by John Alexander and based in the 2006 eponymous novel.   

Synopsis: Dublin, in the late autumn of 1956. City pathologist Quirke stumbles late one night from a party in the nurses’ quarters with a view to sleeping off his hangover in his subterranean pathology lab. To his surprise his quiet refuge has been invaded by his adoptive brother, obstetric consultant Malachy Griffin, who is at Quirke’s desk completing some paperwork for a recently deceased patient named Christine Falls. When Quirke returns next morning to find Christine’s body gone, he remembers his brother’s odd behaviour, and becomes consumed by curiosity over what Mal was doing. Slowly he closes in on Mal’s secret, all the time stirring up a hornets’ nest of trouble for himself and he begins to understand that there are some truths that may be better left untold. (RTÉ)

You can read Martin Edwards entry Quirke – BBC One – TV review at his blog ‘Do You Write Under Your Own Name?’ 

Actually I liked it, though not as much as the book, and I plan to read the rest of the books and watch the next episodes in due course. Stay tuned.

Read a review at The Killing Times

BBC One Quirke

%d bloggers like this: