Monthly Summary (June 2014)


What I Read in June 2014

  • The Silence of the Rain (Henry Holt and Co., 2013) Translated by Benjamin Moser, 2002. Original title: O silêncio da chuva, 1996 by Luiz Alfredo García-Roza (A)
  • The Song Dog (Faber and Faber, 1993) by James McClure (A+)
  • The Treasure Hunt (Mantle, 2013) Translated by Stephen Sartarelli, 2013. Originally published as La caccia al tesoro, 2010 by Andrea Camilleri (A)
  • Christine Falls (Picador, 2013) Originally published in 2006 by Benjamin Black (A)
  • The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Penguin Classics, 2010) Originally punlished in 1963 by John Le Carré (A+)
  • Payback (Old Street Publishing, 2011) by Mike Nicol (A) my review will be ready soon.

Although I’ve very much enjoyed all the books, in particular The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, my Pick of the Month is

 https://jiescribano.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/eca43-songdog.jpg?w=152&h=250

Check out at Mysteries in Paradise other fellow bloggers pick of the month

Books Bought Last Month

Oh dear! I keep on buying more books than I can read in a month. In my discharge, most were opportunistic purchases.

  • Southwesterly Wind by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza
  • The Silence of the Rain by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza
  • Payback by Mike Nicol
  • Christine Falls by Benjamin Black
  • Monsieur Monde Vanishes by Georges Simenon
  • December Heat by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza
  • Dare Me by Megan Abbott
  • Cop Hater by Ed McBain
  • The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carré
  • The Cocktail Waitress by James M Cain
  • The Steam Pig by James McClure
  • Three Great Novels: The Derek Strange Trilogy: Right as Rain, Hell to Pay, Soul Circus by George Pelecanos

Currently Reading

14 thoughts on “Monthly Summary (June 2014)

  1. A decent month’s reading and some good acquisitions. I’ll look forward to seeing your Pelecanos reviews. I read these a few years ago in the pre-blogging days and enjoyed them. I ought to try Megan Abbott at some point also.

  2. You have a lot in your recently purchased list that I want to read too (and have copies of). Too many to mention, but especially the Pelecanos (I read the first one and liked it); The Steam Pig; the Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza books, except for the first one. I bet you will get there first with most of those.

  3. God my stack issues have gone insane since starting to blog – so many people with the same (obviously exquisite!) taste as me leaving wonderful recommendations!

Leave a Reply

