My Film Notes: Before the Winter Chill (Avant L’hiver) directed by Philippe Claudel


Esta entrada es bilingüe, para ver la versión en castellano desplazarse hacia abajo

Before the Winter Chill (Original title: Avant l’hiver) is a 2013 French film directed by Philippe Claudel, based on a screenplay written by Philippe Claudel and starring Daniel Auteuil, Kristin Scott Thomas, Leïla Bekhti and Richard Berry. It’s Philippe Claudel third film following I’ve Loved You So Long (Il y a longtemps que je t’aime) 2008, and All the Suns (Tous les soleils) 2011. The film was released in Spain on Friday 12 September, 2014.

The story revolves around a haute bourgeois couple. Paul (Daniel Auteuil) is a highly respected neurosurgeon, his wife Lucie (Kristin Scott Thomas) is the perfect housewife. But soon the happiness of their marriage begins to be put into question.  It is all triggered by the bouquets of red flowers that he begins to receive at his home, at the hospital and at his office. Coincidentally, a young woman (Leïla Bekhti) who claims to have been his patient begins to cross his path.

Begoña and I went to see it yesterday. The truth is that the film bored me to death. The subject has been overused. And, for my taste, it adds nothing new.

My rating 3/10.

See review at The Hollywood Reporter 

Avant l hiver site officiel

Antes del frio invierno dirigida por Philippe Claudel

Póster de la película Antes del frío inviernoAntes del frio invierno (Título original: Avant l’hiver) es una película francesa del 2013 dirigida por Philippe Claudel, basada en un guión escrito por Philippe Claudel y protagonizada por Daniel Auteuil, Kristin Scott Thomas, Leïla Bekhti y Richard Berry. Es la tercera película dirigida por Philippe Claudel después de Hace mucho que te quiero (Il y a longtemps que je t’aime) 2008, y Silencio de amor (Tous les soleils), 2011. La película se estrenó en España el viernes 12 de septiembre de 2014.

La historia gira alrededor de una pareja de la burguesía alta. Paul (Daniel Auteuil) es un neurocirujano muy respetado, su esposa Lucie (Kristin Scott Thomas) es el ama de casa perfecta. Pero pronto la felicidad de su matrimonio comienza a ser puesta en tela de juicio. Todo se desencadena por los ramos de flores rojas que comienza a recibir en su domicilio, en el hospital y en su oficina. Coincidentemente, una mujer joven (Leïla Bekhti) que afirma haber sido su paciente, comienza a cruzarse en su camino.

Begoña y yo fuimos a verla ayer. La verdad es que la película me aburrió muchísimo. El tema ha sido usado en exceso. Y, para mi gusto, no añade nada nuevo.

Mi valoración: 3/10.

Web Oficial en Español

4 thoughts on “My Film Notes: Before the Winter Chill (Avant L’hiver) directed by Philippe Claudel

  1. José Ignacio – I’m so sorry to hear that this film bored you. I do love your candor though. Perhaps this is one film I will wait to see – for a while…

    1. Well I loved the cinematography and those upper class French houses are very nice. Besides I could practice my French, I loved the French sound almost as much as I loved the Brazilian Portuguese sound.

  2. Sorry to hear you were disappointed, Jose Ignacio. I must give the movie a look myself, though — it sounds very much my kind of thing!

Leave a Reply

