Candidates at the 87th edition of the Academy Awards in the Best Foreign Language Film Cathegory


The full list of nominees to the Academy Awards in its 87th edition, is available here.

Generally, I’m mainly interested in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

The nominees this year are:

Ida (Poland), directed by Pawel Pawlikowski my film note is here

Leviathan (Russia), directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev. Plan to see it soon, stay tuned.

Tangerines (Estonia), directed by Zaza Urushadze. It has not yet been released in Spain.

Timbuktu (Mauritania), directed by Abderrahmane Sissako. It has not yet been released in Spain.

Wild Tales (Argentina), directed by Damián Szifron my film note is here

I do not think I’ve seen any Mauritanian film yet and I’d like to see this one, but I’m afraid it wont be commercial enough to attract Spanish distributors. I hope to be wrong.

.

3 thoughts on “Candidates at the 87th edition of the Academy Awards in the Best Foreign Language Film Cathegory

  1. Gotta confess, I lost a lot of interest in this year’s Oscar noms when I saw that Mr. Turner — and especially Timothy Spall’s performance — had been almost entirely ignored. At least Dick Pope’s stunning cinematography got some recognition (plus three other technical categories), but otherwise the omission seems just plain willful.

    Your listing of the Best Foreign nominations has whetted my appetite a little, though. I must endeavor to check these out when the DVDs come along. (In our benighted neck of the woods there’s little chance any of these will see a cinema screen.)

    • John I lost all interest in the Academy Awards some time ago and only follow the Best Foreign Film Award. Pitty I’ll have to wait also for a DVD to come along in some cases, but I’m afraid that some will also be difficult to find. .

  2. Pingback: Film Notes: Leviathan (2014) directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev | The Game's Afoot

Leave a Reply

