The best tribute to an author: read her/his books


I just bought: A Judgement In Stone by Ruth Rendell. Sadly Ruth Rendell, Lady Rendell of Babergh also known as Barbara Vine, died yesterday, aged 85.  She has left behind quite an impressive legacy of novels, here. I’d to admit I’ve read very few of her books. See my review of The Birthday Present, here. A Judgement In Stone (1977) is widely considered to be one of her greatest works. The novel is famous in the world of crime fiction for its opening line:

Eunice Parchman killed the Coverdale family because she could not read or write“.

Ruth Rendell Video Interview

13 thoughts on “The best tribute to an author: read her/his books

  1. Oh, I hope you’ll enjoy A Judgement in Stone, José Ignacio. I think it’s one of her really fine books. And I agree with you: the best tribute you can pay to an author is to read her or his work.

  2. By odd coincidence, The Birthday Present is part of the stack on my nightstand right now. Not sure when I’ll get to it, though — I have a lot of other reading on the way. Even so, that Scotsman review of it that you link to has whetted my appetite . . .

  3. I love this author’s work and her writing under the pen-name Barbara Vine was my first introduction to the psychological novel which now makes up a good percentage of my reading. I’ve read a Judgement In Stone many times and love the unmasking of the killer in that brilliant sentence.

  4. I agree with your thought that reading an author’s work is the best tribute. I have read nearly all of the Inspector Wexford series, but not many of her non-series book. (I did read A Judgement in Stone many years ago.) Her non-series are outside of my comfort zone and often make me feel tense beyond my ability to enjoy reading the book. Reading A Sight for Sore Eyes definitely affected me that way, but Rendell’s writing is very, very good. So I will try to slip in some of her non-series books. I do have a few unread ones on my shelves.

  5. Pingback: First Chapter ~ First Paragraph (May 5) | Cleopatra Loves Books

Leave a Reply

