Gunnar Staalesen

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947.  He made his debut at the age of 22 with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series.  He is the author of over 20 titles (?), which have been published in 24 countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen with his wife. The next instalments in the Varg Veum series – Where Roses Never Die and No One Is So Safe in Danger – will be published by Orenda Books in 2016 and 2017. (Source: Orenda Books)

Right now, I’m finishing reading The Consorts of Death, Arcadia Books, 2009, translated by Don Bartlett. Stay tuned.

To the best of my knowledge, the list of Gunnar Staalesen’s Varg Veum books in chronological order is:

  1. Bukken til havresekken (1977)
  2. Din, til døden (1979) English translation by Margaret Amassian Yours Until Death, 1993.
  3. Tornerose sov i hundre år (1980)
  4. Kvinnen i kjøleskapet (1981)
  5. I mørket er alle ulver grå (1983) English translation by D. MacDuff At Night All Wolves Are Grey, 1986.
  6. Hekseringen (1985) 
  7. Svarte får (1988)
  8. Falne engler (1989) 
  9. Bitre blomster (1991) 
  10. Begravde hunder biter ikke (1993) 
  11. Skriften på veggen (1995) English translation by Hal Sutcliffe The Writing on the Wall, 2004.
  12. De døde har det godt (1996)
  13. Som i et speil (2002) 
  14. Ansikt til ansikt (2004) 
  15. Dødens drabanter (2006) English translation by Don Bartlett The Consorts of Death, 2009. Spanish translation: Los círculos de la muerte.
  16. Kalde hjerter (2008) English translation by Don Bartlett Cold Hearts, 2012. 
  17. Vi skal arve vinden (2010) English translation by Don Bartlett We Shall Inherit the Wind (Orenda Books, 2015) 
  18. Der hvor roser aldri dør (2012) Where Roses Never Die (Orenda Books, 2016) 
  19. Ingen er så trygg i fare (2014) No One Is So Safe in Danger (Orenda Books, 2017)

2 thoughts on “Gunnar Staalesen”

  1. The first set of six movies is much recommended, if you’ve not come across them. The second set’s okay, but not as good.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.