Agatha Christie on her 125th Anniversary


Last September 15 marked the 125th anniversary of Agatha Christie’s birth. On this occasion, over the last two weeks, there have been many blog entries celebrating this event. I would like to bring up here those ones that have caught my attention:   

Xavier Lechard writes in his blog At The Villa Rose A Neanderthalian view of Christie. I very much agree with Xavier, but the funny thing is that I’m enjoying very much the Quirke book series by Benjamin Black, though I don’t share his views on Christie novels.

Curtis J. Evans at The Passing Tramp collects and summarises several lists: Favorite Agatha Christie Novels and Some More Favorite Christie Lists, together with some other entries.

Moira Redmond on Clothes in Books has posted various entries: Agatha Christie Week: Her Life, Agatha Christie Week: A Sharp, Brittle Book, Agatha Christie Week: Surfing, an early adopter, Dress Down Sunday: Agatha Christie Week, Agatha Christie Week: Round the World in Fact and Fiction and Agatha Christie Week: An Author of Influence…

NacyO writes in the crime segments: I couldn’t let the day end without remembering Agatha Christie

Keishon in her blog Yet Another Crime Fiction Blog In Remembrance: Agatha Christie

Last but not least, Kerrie Smith hosts an essential blog for all Agatha Christie aficionados the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge Carnival. If you visit her site for the first time, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. 

For my part, I reviewed The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie and wrote in A Crimes Is Afoot #HappyBirthdayAgatha

And, to conclude, you can find below the list of Christie’s novels I’m planning to read, without a date of completion, with the idea of coming up with my own list of favourites. If you think I’m neglecting any other essential novel, I’ll be most grateful for your suggestion in comments.

  • The Murder of Roger Akcroyd (1926, Poirot)
  • The Murder at the Vicarage (1930, Marple)
  • Peril at End House (1932, Poirot)
  • Murder on the Orient Express (1934, Poirot)
  • The ABC Murders (1936, Poirot)
  • Death on the Nile (1937, Poirot)
  • And Then There Were None (1939)
  • Sad Cypress (1940, Poirot)
  • One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (1940, Poirot)
  • Evil under the Sun (1941, Poirot)
  • Five Little Pigs (1942, Poirot)
  • The Hollow (1946, Poirot)
  • A Murder Is Announced (1950, Marple)
  • 4.50 from Paddington (1957, Marple)
  • The Pale Horse (1961)
  • Endless Night (1967)
  • Curtain (1975, Poirot)
  • Sleeping Murder (1976, Marple)

9 thoughts on “Agatha Christie on her 125th Anniversary

  1. Great summary. There are a bundle of reviews over on my blog but Curtis’s posts at The Passing Tramp on the most popular books are fascinating. Well worth a look.

    1. Appreciate your comment Puzzle Doctor. Sorry I didn’t mention your excellent blog In Search of the Classic Mystery Novel. I focused only on blog posts published after 15 September.

Leave a Reply

