A First Look at The Titles Eligible for The 2016 CWA International Dagger


As it usually happens at this time of year, Karen at Euro Crime provides us with a list of titles eligible for the 2016 CWA International Dagger. Listed below are the books that have caught my attention:

Karin Fossum – The Drowned Boy (Norway, F) (tr. Kari Dickson, Harvill Secker) On my wish list
Ragnar Jonasson – Snowblind (Iceland, M) (tr. Quentin Bates, Orenda Books) On my TBR shelves
Leena Lehtolainen – The Lion of Justice (Finland, F) (tr. Jenni Salmi, AmazonCrossing) On my wish list
Liza Marklund – Without a Trace (Sweden, F) (tr. Neil Smith, Corgi) On my TBR shelves
Gunnar Staalesen – We Shall Inherit the Wind (Norway, M) (tr. Don Bartlett, Orenda Books) On my TBR shelves
Dominique Sylvain – Dirty War (France, F) (tr. Nick Caistor, MacLehose Press)
Arnaldur Indridason – Oblivion (Iceland, M) (tr. Victoria Cribb, Harvill Secker) On my wish list
Johan Theorin – The Voices Beyond (Sweden, M) (tr. Marlaine Delargy, Doubleday) On my wish list
Andrea Camilleri – Blade of Light (apa A Beam of Light) (Italy, M) (tr. Stephen Sartarelli, Mantle) On my wish list
Patricia Melo – The Body Snatcher (Brazil, F) (tr. Clifford Landers, Bitter Lemon)
Deon Meyer – Icarus (South Africa, M) (tr. K L Seegers, Hodder) On my wish list
Kati Hiekkapelto – The Defenceless (Finland, F) (tr. David Hackston, Orenda Books) On my TBR shelves
Kristina Ohlsson – The Chosen (Sweden, F) (tr. Marlaine Delargy, Simon & Schuster) On my wish list
Pierre Lemaitre – The Great Swindle (France, M) (tr. Frank Wynne, Maclehose Press)
Eduardo Sacheri – The Secret in Their Eyes (Argentina, M) (tr. tbc, John Murray)
Claudia Pineiro – Betty Boo (Argentina, F) (tr. Miranda France, Bitter Lemon Press)
Valerio Varesi – A Woman Much Missed (Italy, M) (tr. Joseph Farrell, MacLehose Press)
Leif GW Persson – The Dying Detective (Sweden, M) (tr. Neil Smith, Doubleday) To access my review click the title

In bold those I’m planning to read first.

What other titles have caught your eye?

5 thoughts on “A First Look at The Titles Eligible for The 2016 CWA International Dagger

      1. Cheers Jose Ignacio! I do miss the ease of operation of the old Friendfeed, but with the winter nights closing in I will try and get used to Facebook.

  1. I’ve only read one – Johan Theorin’s The Voices Beyond, which I thought was a great book. It’ll be hard to beat, I think. Snowblind is on my TBR too – otherwise I’m not sure how many I’d be able to fit in, but several are tempting… thanks for the list!

Leave a Reply

