May Reading Round Up

Read last month:

The Murder on the Links, 1923 (Hercule Poirot #2) by Agatha Christie (B)

The Light of Day (1962) by Eric Ambler (A+)

A Rage in Harlem (1957) by Chester Himes (A+)

Even Dogs in the Wild (2015) by Ian Rankin (A+)

Ruling Passion (1973) by Reginald Hill – My review is still pending

Off with His Head (1957) by Ngaio Marsh (Roderick Alleyn #19) – My review is still pending

My Friend Maigret, 1949 (Inspector Maigret #31) by Georges Simenon. Trans: Shaun Whiteside. -I’ve not finished it yet.

Shortlist Announced for Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

Award-Square-190x190 The shortlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, has been announced. Celebrating its twelfth year, the Awards feature six titles whittled down from a longlist of 18 crime novels published by British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2015 to 18 April 2016.

The shortlist in full:

  • Time Of Death – Mark Billingham
  • Career Of Evil – Robert Galbraith
  • Tell No Tales – Eva Dolan
  • Disclaimer – Renee Knight
  • I Let You Go – Clare Mackintosh
  • Rain Dogs – Adrian McKinty

I’m looking forward to reading soon, Tell no Tales and Rain Dogs. Stay tuned.

Rain Dogs is book five in the critically-acclaimed Sean Duffy Thriller series set in 1980s Belfast by Northern Irish writer, Adrian McKinty. McKinty was shortlisted for the Steel Dagger in 2004 and has since been nominated for multiple awards in the UK, USA, France and Australia. He won the Ned Kelly Award in 2014 for Sean Duffy book three and book four was nominated for an Edgar in 2016. He currently lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Eva Dolan’s Tell No Tales is the second book from the author BBC Radio 4 marked as ‘a rising star of crime fiction’. Shortlisted for the CWA Dagger for unpublished authors when she was just a teenager, her debut novel Long Way Home, was the start of a major new crime series starring two detectives from the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit. Tell No Tales focuses on murdered migrants and racial tension.

The award ceremony will be hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 21 July on the opening night of the 14th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. (Source: <>).

%d bloggers like this: