The International Dagger Shortlist


The International Dagger, for crime fiction translated into English and published in the UK, has been announced:

The Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango translated by Imogen Taylor, published by Simon & Schuster

The Great Swindle by Pierre Lemaître translated by Frank Wynne, published by MacLehose Press

Icarus by Deon Meyer translated by K L Seegers, published by Hodder & Stoughton

The Murderer in Ruins by Cay Rademacher translated by Peter Millar, published by Arcadia

Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama translated by Jonathan Lloyd-Davis, published by Quercus

Am afraid I’ve not read any yet but have three in my whish list, the Lemaitre, Meyer and Yokohama. 

4 thoughts on “The International Dagger Shortlist

  1. Much though I like Lemaitre, I don’t think that book is really a crime novel, so on that basis alone it shouldn’t win the International Dagger. I’ve got the Deon Meyer and Sascha Arango ready to go on my ereader, and I’ve been told that the Cay Rademacher one is very good by Mrs. Peabody. Finally, although I am usually a fan of Japanese literature, I didn’t hugely enjoy Six Four. It was a bit overlong and overly detailed on internal departmental politics.

  2. Oh dear…I’ve only read one…though I imagine it’s the longest one…SIX FOUR…600+ pages. I liked parts of it but agree with MarinaSofia that it was overly long and had too much detail about office politics. I can’t imagine anyone is that interested in office politics. The main character is fascinating though and you do learn a lot about Japanese culture and their media environment – very different to ours here in Australia – I always like learning about different cultures like that

    I want to read the Meyer and the Arango and the Rademacher. But I doubt I’ll get to them before the winner is announced. I haven’t read any Lemaitre since Alex which was way, way too violent for my tastes so I have never dared to re-visit

    1. Thank you very much for your comment Bernadette. I don’t think I’ll have time to read any of them before the announcement of the winner. I always enjoy Meyer and as per your comments I’ll be tempted then to try the Arango and the Rademacher.

Leave a Reply

