A Crime is Afoot 2016 Favourite Books


Although I’m currently reading The Polish Officer (1995) by Alan Furst, I’m not sure my review will be available before the year end. Anyway here below you may find my favourite readings in this year which is about to come to an end:

A) Contemporary Crime Fiction (in no particular order)

A Devil Under the Skin (2015) by Anya Lipska

The Crossing (2015) by Michael Connelly

Nightblind  (2016) by Ragnar Jónasson, tr. Quentin Bates

Even Dogs in the Wild (2015) by Ian Rankin

Rain Dogs (2015) by Adrian McKinty

 

B) Classic Crime Fiction (books originally published before 1987)

The Maltese Falcon (1930) by Dashiell Hammett 

Cards on the Table, 1936 (Hercule Poirot #13) by Agatha Christie

Alone in Berlin (1947) by Hans Fallada, tr by Michael Hofmann

My Friend Maigret, 1949 (Inspector Maigret #31) by Georges Simenon. Trans: Shaun Whiteside

A Rage in Harlem (1957) by Chester Himes

6 thoughts on “A Crime is Afoot 2016 Favourite Books

  1. Oh dear, I haven’t read a single one of those. Except for Tha Maltese Falcon but that was decades ago. An interesting looking array there though, I need to catch up with the Anya Lipska series

    1. I really can’t tell you how many books in the lists of my favourite reviewers I have still to read. I would have to live more lives to be able to catch up with all I want to read. Happy New Year, Benadette!

  2. I’ll be interested in your review of the Alan Furst. I haven’t read any of his books but they keep appearing on my recommendations and the period setting really appeals to me.

Leave a Reply

