February 2017 Leisure Reading


btgry7bkcMy leisure reading last month:

The Conqueror Inn: A Bobby Owen Mystery (1943) by E.R. Punshon (A) 

The Yellow Dog, 1931 (Inspector Maigret #5) by Georges Simenon. Trans: Linda Asher – Revisited (A)

 The Carter of ‘La Providence’, 1931 (Inspector Maigret #4) by Georges Simenon. Trans: David Coward (A)

She Died a Lady (1943) by Carter Dickson (A)

I must underline that, perhaps, I should have given a higher rating to The Carter of ‘La Providence’ and She Died a Lady.

At this stage I’m finishing reading Craig Russell’s The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid (2016) and have started Martin Edwards’ The Golden Age of Murder and The Serpent Pool

I will also like to highlight that I had the opportunity and the privilege to meet Martin Edwards personally during his short visit in Madrid to talk about the revival of interest in Golden Age fiction as part of the Congreso Internacional sobre novela policíaca (International Congress on Detective Fiction) hosted by the Universidad CEU San Pablo, of whose visit I shall give full account in a next post. Meanwhile, I don’t want to miss this opportunity to thank the Universidad CEU San Pablo and the Congress organisers for their great kindness to me and to wish them to continue organising this type of events in the near future.

I would also like to stress that I bought, during the course of the Congress Sangre en los estantes (Blood on the shelves), a book written by Paco Camarasa, probably the most knowledgeable person in Spain on our favourite genre, la ficcioón negrocriminal (noir-and-crime fiction) as he likes to call it.

For those who don’t know him, Paco Camarasa (Valencia, 1950) is mainly known for being the primary divulger of crime fiction in Spain. Since he founded together with Montse Clavé in 2002, the Barcelona bookshop Negra y Criminal (http://negraycriminal.com/), that has recently disappeared. 

As you can see, I begin March full of ideas to write about  in the next days. Let’s see if I’m able to carry it out and I hope it will be of your interest. Stay tuned.

One thought on “February 2017 Leisure Reading

  1. One of the few Simenon’s I have is The Yellow Dog, which I will get to at some point. Judging by your mark, its well worth a read.

Leave a Reply

