The Petrona Award 2017 Shortlist Has Been Announced


TPAlogoThe Petrona Award 2017 shortlist has been finally disclosed. You can see all the details at Euro Crime and at The Petrona Award blog site, clicking on the blog’s titles. Congratulations to all the nominees. I’m proud to have spotted 4 out of the 6 candidates. See my previous post at A First Glance to the Petrona Award 2017 Eligible Titles. So far I’ve read two of the books in the final list, Gunnar Staalesen – Where Roses Never Die tr. Don Bartlett (M, Norway) Orenda (My review is here) and Leif GW Persson – The Dying Detective tr. Neil Smith (M, Sweden) Doubleday (though I read it in Spanish and my review is here). I do have Kati Hiekkapelto – The Exiled  tr. David Hackston (F, Finland) on my TBR list and I’m planning to read it soon and, weather permitting, the other three should follow suit, hopefully on time before the announcement of the winning title at the Gala Dinner on 20 May during the annual international crime fiction event CrimeFest, held in Bristol 18-21 May 2017. Stay tuned.

As a side note it’s worth to highlight that Orenda Books has positioned three of its titles on the shortlist, and that Neil Smith is the translator of two of the books. My congratulation is also extended to Karen Sullivan and Neil Smith. Good job!

I’m quite convinced that, the members of the jury, have had it very difficult in view of the excellent quality of this year candidates.

Read more at:

Petrona Award Shortlist Announced at Crime Time.

Introducing Karen Sullivan, Publisher at Orenda Books

One thought on “The Petrona Award 2017 Shortlist Has Been Announced

Leave a Reply

