Day: April 1, 2017

International Dagger Speculation (2017)

Among the books eligible for the CWA International Dagger Award, that I’ve not read yet and are not included in the Petrona Award shortlist, I’ve identified the following books to read in the upcoming months. Stay tuned.

The longlist for the CWA International Dagger 2017 will be announced at CrimeFest on 19 May 2017. The CWA website has the list of official submissions

Which ones are the titles that takes your fancy in particular?

  1. Gianrico Carofiglio – A Fine Line (Italy, M) (tr. Howard Curtis, Bitter Lemon Press) on my Wish list
  2. Pascal Garnier – Too Close to the Edge (France, M) (tr. Emily Boyce, Gallic Books) on my TBR
  3. Erik Axl Sund – The Crow Girl (Sweden, M & M) (tr. Neil Smith, Harvill Secker) on my Wish list
  4. Karin Fossum – Hellfire (Norway, F) (tr. Kari Dickson, Harvill Secker) on my Wish list
  5. Ragnar Jonasson – Blackout (Iceland, M) (tr. Quentin Bates, Orenda Books) on my TBR
  6. Pierre Lemaitre – Blood Wedding (France, M) (tr. Frank Wynne, MacLehose Press) on my Wish list
  7. Fred Vargas – A Climate of Fear (France, F) (tr. Sian Reynolds, Harvill Secker) on my Wish list
  8. Pascal Garnier – The Eskimo Solution (France, M) (tr. Emily Boyce, Gallic Books) on my TBR
  9. Hans Olav Lahlum – Chameleon People (Norway, M) (tr. Kari Dickson, Mantle) on my Wish list
  10. Andrea Camilleri – A Voice in the Night (Italy, M) (tr. Stephen Sartarelli, Mantle) on my Wish list
  11. Antti Tuomainen – The Mine (Finland, M) (tr. David Hackston, Orenda Books) on my Wish list
  12. Ragnar Jonasson – Rupture (Iceland, M) (tr. Quentin Bates, Orenda Books) on my TBR
  13. Thomas Enger – Cursed (Norway, M) (tr. Kari Dickson, Orenda Books) on my Wish list
  14. Jorn Lier Horst – When It Grows Dark (Norway, M) (tr. Anne Bruce, Sandstone Press) on my TBR

Do not go gentle into that good night

Dylan Thomas (1914 – 1953)

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.