The "Gallimard Cycle"

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (2)cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (3)cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (4)cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (7)cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (6)cover.jpg.rendition.460.707 (5)

The “Gallimard Cycle” comprises the six Maigret books published  between 1942 and 1944, namely Cécile is Dead (Gallimard, 1942); The Cellars of the Majestic (Gallimard, 1942); The Judgeʻs House (Gallimard, 1942); Signed, Picpus (Gallimard, 1944); Inspector Cadaver (Gallimard, 1944), and Félicie (Gallimard, 1944). They marked the return of Simenon to his character ‘in spite of himself’ and they evoke marvelously the world of the Chief Inspector (source: Which Maigret to Read First? by Murielle Wenger).  Eight years had passed since the publication of his last Maigret book, Maigret, aka Maigret Returns. George Simenon was willing to end his series with that book. In fact, when the story begins, Maigret is already retired and lives with his wife in Meung-sur-Loire. Fortunately, that was not the case. I’ve read so far The Cellars of the Majestic and Signed, Picpus. Which in my view are among his best. My plan is to read the other four in due time. Stay tuned.

One thought on “The "Gallimard Cycle"”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: