Margery Allingham

thThis post was intended as a private note. However, I’m posting it as it could be of some interest to regular or occasional readers of this blog.

The following article The Great Detectives: Albert Campion by Mike Ripley at The Strand Magazine, aroused my interest in reading the Albert Campion book series by Margery Allingham.

About the Author: Margery Allingham, in full Margery Louise Allingham, (born May 20, 1904, London, England—died June 30, 1966, Colchester, Essex), British detective-story writer of unusual subtlety, wit, and imaginative power who created the bland, bespectacled, keen-witted Albert Campion, one of the most interesting of fictional detectives.  Campion’s career was begun with a group of ingenious popular thrillers: The Crime at Black Dudley (1928; U.S. title, The Black Dudley Murder), Mystery Mile (1929), Police at the Funeral (1931), and Sweet Danger (1933). A series of more tightly constructed intellectual problem stories, beginning with Death of a Ghost (1934) and including Flowers for the Judge (1936), The Fashion in Shrouds (1938), and Traitor’s Purse (1941), gained Allingham critical esteem; and with Coroner’s Pidgin (1945; U.S. title, Pearls Before Swine), More Work for the Undertaker (1949), Tiger in the Smoke (1952)—a novel that revealed her psychological insight and her power to create an atmosphere of pervasive, mindless evil—and The China Governess (1963), she made a valuable contribution to the development of the detective story as a serious literary genre. Campion’s career was continued in Cargo of Eagles (1968), left unfinished when Allingham died and completed by her husband, Philip Youngman Carter. (Source: Britannica)

Publication Order of Albert Campion Books

  1. The Crime at Black Dudley (1929: US title The Black Dudley Murder)
  2. Mystery Mile (1930)
  3. Look to the Lady (1931: US title The Gyrth Chalice Mystery)
  4. Police at the Funeral (1931)
  5. Sweet Danger (1933: US title Kingdom of Death/The Fear Sign)
  6. Death of a Ghost (1934)
  7. Flowers for the Judge (1936: US title Legacy in Blood)
  8. The Case of the Late Pig (1937)
  9. Dancers in Mourning (1937: US title Who Killed Chloe?)
  10. The Fashion in Shrouds (1938)
  11. Traitor’s Purse (1941: US title The Sabotage Murder Mystery)
  12. Coroner’s Pidgin (1945: US title Pearls Before Swine)
  13. More Work for the Undertaker (1948)
  14. The Tiger in the Smoke (1952)
  15. The Beckoning Lady (1955)
  16. Hide My Eyes (1958)
  17. The China Governess (1962)
  18. The Mind Readers (1965)
  19. A Cargo of Eagles (1968)
  20. Mr. Campion’s Farthing (1969)
  21. Mr. Campion’s Quarry (1971)

In bold, the novels I’m planning to read soon to familiarise myself with an author I’m not very well aware of. Any further suggestion is highly appreciated

Read more: The Margery Allingham Society and A Writer to Remember: Margery Allingham by H.R.F. Keating

5 thoughts on “Margery Allingham”

  1. I started reading her books this year. I am not reading it from book #1. So far, I have read three – Tiger in the smoke (which I didn’t like), Traitor’s purse and sweet danger (both are really good). By the end of this month, I am planning to read “the return of Mr.Campion” – this book will be released in the second week of April. Since you are familiar with Christie’s Poirot, I would like to say that you might find Campion to be a tad slow and dull.

  2. Reading this prompts me to re-read Tiger in the smoke for the third time .I think it the best of Allingham’s books and a much more engrossing and atmospheric read than anything by Christie.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.