Dorothy L. Sayers

Although intended as a private note, I’m posting it here, as it may be of some interest to regular or occasional readers of this blog.

Dorothy SayersDorothy L. Sayers, in full Dorothy Leigh Sayers, (born June 13, 1893, Oxford, Oxfordshire, Eng.—died Dec. 17, 1957, Witham, Essex), English scholar and writer whose numerous mystery stories featuring the witty and charming Lord Peter Wimsey combined the attractions of scholarly erudition and cultural small talk with the puzzle of detection. Sayers received a degree in medieval literature from the University of Oxford in 1915; she was one of the first women to graduate from that university. Her first major published work was Whose Body? (1923), a detective novel in which Lord Peter first appeared as a dashing gentleman-scholar. The book was followed by one or two novels a year for about 15 years. Sayers wrote short stories that featured not only Lord Peter but also another detective creation, Montague Egg. She also published an anthology of the detective story, The Omnibus of Crime (1929). In her later years Sayers turned from detective fiction to writing theological plays and books such as Creed or Chaos? (1947). She made scholarly translations of Dante’s Inferno (1949) and Purgatorio (1955); her translation of the third book, the Paradiso, was incomplete at her death. (Source: Britannica)

So far I’ve read and enjoyed Murder Must Advertise and The Nine Tailors (see my reviews clicking below on the book title), but I’m still not very familiar with Lord Peter Wimsey book series. I look forward to reading shortly the titles marked in bold

Lord Peter Wimsey book series in order

  • Whose Body? 1923 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #1)
  • Clouds of Witness, 1926 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #2)
  • Unnatural Death,1927 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #3) 
  • Lord Peter Views the Body, 1928 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #4)
  • The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, 1928 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #5)
  • Strong Poison, 1930 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #6)
  • The Five Red Herrings, 1931 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #7)
  • Have His Carcase, 1932 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #8)
  • Hangman’s Holiday, 1933 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #9)
  • Murder Must Advertise, 1933 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #10)
  • The Nine Tailors, 1934 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #11)
  • Gaudy Night, 1935 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #12)
  • Busman’s Honeymoon, 1937 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #13)
  • In the Teeth of the Evidence, 1939 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #14)
  • Striding Folly, 1972 (Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery #15)

Read more: The Dorothy L Sayers Society

%d bloggers like this: