E. & M.A. Radford (1891-1973) and (1894-1990

radfordEdwin Isaac Radford (1891-1973) with his wife Mona Augusta Radford (born Mangan) (1894-1990) made up the writing duo E. & M. A. Radford. Edwin Radford married Mona Augusta Mangan in 1939. Edwin worked as a journalist, holding many editorial roles on Fleet Street in London, while Mona was a popular leading lady in musical-comedy and revues until her retirement from the stage. The couple turned to crime fiction when they were both in their early fifties. Edwin described their collaborative formula as: “She kills them off, and I find out how she done it.” Their primary series detective was Harry Manson who they introduced in 1944. The Radfords spent their final years living in Worthing on the English South Coast. (Source: Dean Street Press)

Dean Street Press have republished six of their classic mysteries: Murder Jigsaw (1944), Murder Isn’t Cricket (1946), Who Killed Dick Whittington? (1947), The Heel Of Achilles (1950), Death Of A Frightened Editor (1959) and Death And The Professor (1961).

Death and the Professor (1961) is of particular interest to every locked room reader. A collection of short stories structured as a detective novel with seven of the eight stories covering an entire page in Robert Adey’s Locked Room Murders (1991). (TomCat at Beneath the Stains of Time)

Among the Dean Street Press books, I’d particularly like to highlight two series. The first is the set of books by Brian Flynn, the second is those by E. and M.A. Radford. They benefit from excellent introductions by two fans who have done a good deal of admirable work in the field. Steve Barge (who blogs as The Puzzle Doctor) is a passionate Flynn fan, while Nigel Moss has long admired the work of the Radfords. I haven’t yet read enough of either novelist to be able to judge them for myself (where does the time go?), but the enthusiasm of Steve and Nigel is a recommendation in itself. (Martin Edwards at ‘Do You Write Under Your Own Name?’).


Harry Manson NovelsInspector Manson’s Success (1944), Murder Jigsaw (1944), Crime Pays No Dividends (1945) aka Death of a Peculiar Rabbit (republished 1969), Murder Isn’t Cricket (1946), It’s Murder to Live! (1947), Who Killed Dick Whittington? (1947), John Kyleing Died (1949), The Heel of Achilles (1950), Look in At Murder (1956), Death On the Broads (1957), Death of a Frightened Editor (1959), Death At the Chateau Noir (1960), Murder on My Conscience (1960), Death’s Inheritance (1961), Death Takes the Wheel (1962), From Information Received (1962), A Cosy Little Murder (1963), Murder Of Three Ghosts (1963), The Hungry Killer (1964), Mask of Murder (1965), Murder Magnified (1965), Death of a Gentleman (1966), Jones’s Little Murders (1967), The Middlefold Murders (1967), No Reason for Murder (1967), The Safety First Murders (1968), Trunk Call to Murder (1968), Death of an Ancient Saxon (1969), Death of a Peculiar Rabbit (1969), Two Ways to Murder (1969), Murder Is Ruby Red (1970), Murder Speaks (1970), Dead Water (1971), The Greedy Killers (1971), and Death Has Two Faces (1972).

Other Novels: The Six Men (1958), Married to Murder (1959), and Death an the Professor (1961).


(Facsimile Dust Jacket, Andrew Melrose Ltd. (UK), 1946)

Book Description: Why should a holidaymaker, sitting to enjoy a game of village cricket, suddenly meet with death in the shape of a flying bullet?

That most English of sporting pastimes: a cricket match between two rivalrous village teams. The game has just ended in a closely fought draw,  and the village green is emptied of all spectators, bar one. A dead man is found sitting in a deck chair on the boundary line, clearly shot during the match. The man is a stranger, with no obvious clue to his identity or that of his killer. Nobody has seen or heard the shot fired. The local police are baffled, and call in Scotland Yard. Enter Dr. Manson, investigative detective par excellence, to solve a seemingly impossible crime.

Murder Isn’t Cricket was originally published in 1946. This new edition includes an introduction by crime fiction historian Nigel Moss.

Murder Isn’t Cricket has been reviewed, among others at Beneath the Stains of Time.

3 thoughts on “E. & M.A. Radford (1891-1973) and (1894-1990”

  1. The rediscovery of the Radfords is one example of how Dean Street Press has filled the hole that the still sorely missed Rue Morgue Press left behind. I can easily imagined RMP editions of Murder Isn’t Cricket or Who Killed Dick Whittington?.

    And thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.