How to choose what to read next: Nordic Crime Fiction (1)


 

Frankly I don’t know how to choose what to read next. What I do know is how I choose what I’m going to read next. If this can help anyone else, it will be just fine. If not, just read whatever you want to. Nordic crime fiction is my foible, therefore I will start from here. Click on the title if you want to find more information about that book. Some of the titles that I have on my TBR shelves, which I might not be able to read before 31 December, include: The Snowman by Jo Nesbo; The Man From Beijing by Henning Mankell; Yours Until Death by Gunnar Staalesen and Murder at the Savoy by Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö (with no particular order).

My plans for early next year include: Three Seconds by Anders Roslund and Börge Hellström; Red Wolf by Liza Marklund; The Inspector and Silence by Håkan Nesser; Bad Intentions by Karin Fossum; Frozen Moment by Camilla Ceder; The Black Path by Asa Larsson; Ashes to Dust by Yrsa Sigurdardottir; The Stonecutter by Camilla Lackberg; Silence by Jan Costin Wagner (yes, I know he’s German but his novels are set in Finland); Arctic Chill by Arnaldur Indridason; The Woman from Bratislava by Leif Davidsen; Echoes From the Death by Johan Thorin; Betrayal by Karin Alvtegen; The Shadow Woman by Ake Edwardson;  The Last Fix by K. O. Dahl; and The Killer’s Art by Mari Jungstedt (with no particular order). And yes, I know Anne Holt is missing.

To be continued…..

11 thoughts on “How to choose what to read next: Nordic Crime Fiction (1)”

  1. >José Ignacio – Thanks for sharing your upcoming reads; they look great!! I'm very eager to read the new Yrsa, myself, as I really enjoy that series.

  2. >If it's any help, I think that this is the best of Staalesen's currently published in English.The Mankell is a good thriller, good characters, but somewhat dubious plot. Ah well …

  3. >Jose Ignacio, you must be mind reading, with family stress getting to me I picked up Murder at the Savoy and started that yesterday. I think the old familiar authors are the ones to turn to for a pleasant and not too stressful read.

  4. >Norman, It looks like a perfect reading for the Christmas holidays then.Dorte, the only reason for not picking up The Snowman inmediately is that I would like to read The Devil's Star first and I still have The Redeemer waiting.

  5. >I have got many of the same books on my TBR pile so I really can't offer much in the way of advice. I am very unscientific with my selections and tend to go with my mood but it looks like whatever you choose you'll have a good read.

  6. >Hola José, Glad to see you picked 3 of ours from the Murray/Nunnally translation factory in Albuquerque (sin "r"): The Stonecutter, Betrayal, and The Killer’s Art. ¡Buena lectura!

  7. >Bernadette, I hope you'll have a good read too.Hola Reg, thanks for posting a comment. Even if you misspell Albu(r)querque in the States, Spanish is the second language. Soon the US will be have the largest Spanish speaking community in the world. So hard to say who is going to be wrong then.

  8. >having read almost all these books in your post, I can say that you are in for some very good reading! Yours Until Death is, as Tim says, a very interesting book – written many years ago. It is the first in a very long series, only a few of which have been translated. The most recent one, Consorts of Death, shows how the author has cut down on the amount of detailed explanation in the books, but has definitely maintained the quality. (Consorts of Death provides a useful recap for people like me who don't read Norwegian and so who have only read two previous series novels.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: