Pick of the Month – February 2013

The quality of my February readings was excellent as you can see from the list below:

  • Perfect Hatred (Soho Crime, 2013) by Leighton Gage.****
  • Pierced (Faber & Faber, 2012) by Thomas Enger. Translated by Charlotte Barslund.*****
  • Hard Bite (Blasted Heath, 2012) by Anonymous-9.*****
  • A Grain Of Truth (Bitter Lemon Press, 2012) by Zygmunt Miloszewski. Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones.*****
  • Crimes in Southern Indiana (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011) by Frank Bill.*****

Click the book title to find my review.

And my Pick of the Month is a tie between Hard Bite and Crimes in Southern Indiana.

HardBite2Cover art for CRIMES IN SOUTHERN INDIANA

I‘m currently reading The Blind Goddess (Corvus, 2012) by Anne Holt,translated by Tom Geddes, the first in the Hanne Wilhelmsen series. It was originally published in 1993 in Norwegian as Blind gudinne, but it’s eligible for the 2013 International Dagger since was published in English in 2012. I’ve scheduled to read next, Last Will by Liza Marklund and The Blinded Man (aka Misterioso), by Arne Dahl, which are also eligible for this year International Dagger.

During the month I’ve downloaded into my Kindle, Lo que esconden las nubes oscuras (Skyggedød) by Anne Holt, the last in the Johanne Vik Series which is not available in English yet, Hard Bite by Anonymous-9, Crimes in Southern Indiana by Frank Bill, The Coroner’s Lunch: A Dr Siri Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery 1) by Colin Cotterill and Last Will by Liza Marklund. In paperback I bought The Blinded Man by Arne Dahl. Not doing well in my zeal to reduce my TBR pile, but at least I’m keeping it under control.

I’m very much tempted to buy Linda, As in the Linda Murder by Leif GW Persson and The Dance of the Seagull by Andrea Camilleri. but I’ll refrain until finishing at least what I have planned to read. I don’t think I’ll be able to increase my reading pace. During the month I had the opportunity to watch on DVD, the first two seasons of Homeland and Forbrydelsen (The Killing) and I’m currently watching the first season of The Wire. Stay tuned.

View More 2013 Crime Fiction Pick of the Month Participants