CWA International Dagger 2012 Winner

The Potter’s Field by Andrea Camilleri, translated by Stephen Sartarelli and published by Mantle has been announced as the winner of the 2012 CWA International Dagger. You can find HERE my review and the rest of the information is HERE.

This Dagger is a competition for crime, thriller, suspense or spy fiction novels which have been translated into English from their original language, for UK publication. The the other five books shortlisted for the Dagger this year were:

I will have Vengeance by Maurizio de Giovanni, translated by Anne Milano Appel (Hersilia Press)
Until Thy Wrath Be Past by Åsa Larsson, translated by Laurie Thompson (Quercus/Maclehose)
Trackers by Deon Meyer, translated by T K L Seegers (Hodder & Stoughton)
Phantom by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett (Harvill Secker)
The Dark Valley by Valerio Varesi, translated by Joseph Farrell (Quercus/Maclehose)

Congratulations to the winners. I have to emphasise the quality of this year shortlist. Although I’m a big fan of Andrea Camilleri, my favourites were: Trackers and Until Thy Wrath Be Past. I read most of the books in the list except The Dark Valley, stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “CWA International Dagger 2012 Winner”

  1. I think we both agree on this one, Jose Ignacio, but I’m pleased to see Camilleri win. They should have given him the diamond dagger (for a body of work) long ago but they are too snobby about books not originally written in English, now, for that one. Pity.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: