2013 Global Reading Challenge


Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise, has just launched a new edition of the Global Reading Challenge, HERE. And I’ve realized just now that I had signed for The Easy Challenge this year. A level that requires to read one novel from each of these continents in the course of 2013: Africa, Asia, Australasia/Oceania, Europe, North America, South America (please include Central America where it is most convenient for you) and the Seventh Continent (here you can either choose Antarctica or your own ´seventh´ setting, eg the sea, the space, a supernatural/paranormal world, history, the future – you name it). From your own continent: try to find a country, state or author that is new to you.

Therefore the time has come to find out how I have done it, in the course of this year.

Africa:  Random Violence (Soho Crime, 2010), by Jassy Mackenzie. (South Africa)

Asia: The Missing File (Quercus, 2013), by D. A. Mishani. Translated by Steven Cohen. (Israel)

Australasia/Oceania: Bad Debts (Quercus, 2013), by Peter Temple. (Australia)

Europe: Happy Birthday, Turk! (No Exit Press, 2013), by Jakob Arjouni.Translated by Anselm Hollo. (Germany)

North America: Hard Bite (Blasted Heath, 2012), by Anonymous-9. (USA)

South America: La neblina del ayer (Tusquets, 2013), by Leonardo Padura. English title: Havana Fever. (Cuba). Please accept my apologies. I know where Cuba is, but I understand that the rules allow me this tolerance. I deeply regret not having read any South American author so far this year. In any case I have in my TBR shelves Money to Burn (Plata quemada) by Ricardo Piglia and I may have still time to read it by 31 December, stay tuned.

Seventh Continent: March Violets (Penguin Books, 2004), by Philip Kerr. (Berlin, 1936).

6 thoughts on “2013 Global Reading Challenge

  1. Well done! I rather foolhardily signed up for the Medium Challenge (2 books from each continent) and very nearly didn’t complete it. But I’m so glad I did! A fantastic stretch, thanks to Kerrie for hosting it.

Leave a Reply

