20 Books of Summer 2016!


20booksfinal The string was as follows; I read it at Cleopatra Loves Books, which in turn found it at 746 Books. The aim is to attempt to read during the summer months. More specifically in the time period from 1 June to 5 September which is roughly 14 weeks or close to 1 and 1/2 books each week. I believe it’s feasible although I might not be able to achieve it. But it is worth a try.

Here below, you can find the list of books I’m planning to read for this challenge (in no particular order).

  1. Red Harvest by Dashiell Hammett
  2. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (re-read) by Agatha Christie
  3. The Big Four by Agatha Christie
  4. The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Chistie
  5. Maigret at the Coroner’s (Inspector Maigret #32) by Georges Simenon, trans: Linda Coverdale
  6. Maigret and the Old Lady (Inspector Maigret #33) by Georges Simenon, trans: Ros Schwartz
  7. Madame Maigret’s Friend (Inspector Maigret #34) by Georges Simenon, trans: Howard Curtis
  8. Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada, trans: Michael Hofmann
  9. Tell no Tales by Eva Dolan
  10. Rain Dogs (Detective Sean Duffy) by Adrian McKinty
  11. The Cornish Coast Murder by John Bude
  12. The Sussex Downs Murder by John Bude
  13. No Other Darkness (D.I. Marnie Rome 2) by Sarah Hilary
  14. Nightblind by Ragnar Jónasson, trans: Quentin Bates
  15. A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn
  16. Dead Pretty (DS Aector McAvoy) by David Mark
  17. The Blue Room by Georges Simenon, trans: Linda Coverdale
  18. The Bride Wore Black by Cornell Woolrich
  19. The G File (The Van Veeteren Series) by Hakan Nesser, trans: Laurie Thompson
  20. Dead Lions by Mick Herron
  21. A Madras Miasma (A superintendent Le Fanu Mystery) by Brian Stoddart
  22. Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford
  23. The Abrupt Physics of Dying by Paul E. Hardisty
  24. The Dying Place by Luca Veste
  25. A Death in Summer by Benjamin Black

Forgive my maths, blame my TBR pile.

26 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer 2016!”

  1. Wow, Jose! This is terribly ambitious of you! I, too, hope to up my reading and blogging quota during summer vacation, but I can’t read this quickly myself! Still, you have some wonderful titles on the list. I hope you enjoy Red Harvest!

    1. Yes I did, you may find my reviews of The Cold Cold Ground, I Hear the Sirens in the Street, In The Morning I’ll Be Gone, and Gun Street Girl, using the search button for Adrian McGinty. Great stuff.

  2. I do love an Agatha Christie, but it has been such a long time since I indulged…I hope you enjoy your little crime spree!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.