April Summary and Plans for May


  1. Finished reading: El complot mongol (The Mongolian Conspiracy) by Rafael Bernal, my review will be ready soon.
  2. Reading: Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen
  3. Next: The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson

My Book Notes in April

  1. The Crime at the ‘Noah’s Ark’, 1931 by Molly Thynne 
  2. El clavo (1853) de Pedro Antonio de Alarcón
  3. La berlina de Prim (2012) de Ian Gibson
  4. La muerte y la brújula (1942) de Jorge Luis Borges
  5. The Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction (2003) Edited by Martin Priestman
  6. The Wrong Shape, 1911 (s.s.) by Gilbert K. Chesterton

TV – Series

  1. Bosch Season 5. Probably the best in this TV-Series
  2. Bron/Broen (El puente) Season 4. Up to the usual standards

Reading Plans

(Besides my current TBR pile, no end date)

The Petrona Award Shortlist

  1. Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen, tr. Don Bartlett (Orenda Books; Norway) (On my TBR pile)
  2. The Darkness by Ragnar Jónasson, tr. Victoria Cribb (Penguin Random House; Iceland) (On my TBR pile)
  3. The Whisperer by Karin Fossum, tr. Kari Dickson (Harvill Secker; Norway) (On my Wish List)
  4. Resin by Ane Riel, tr. Charlotte Barslund (Doubleday; Denmark) (On my Wish List)
  5. The Ice Swimmer by Kjell Ola Dahl, tr. Don Bartlett (Orenda Books; Norway) (On my TBR pile)
  6. The Katharina Code by Jørn Lier Horst, tr. Anne Bruce (Michael Joseph; Norway) (On my Wish List)

Georges Simenon – Maigret

  1. Maigret and the Nahour Case (Inspector Maigret #65) William Hobson (translator) (On my Wish List)
  2. Maigret’s Pickpocket (Inspector Maigret #66) Sian Reynolds (translator) (On my Wish List)
  3. Maigret Hesitates (Inspector Maigret #67) Howard Curtis (translator) will go on sale 2 May 2019 (pre-ordered)
  4. Maigret in Vichy (Inspector Maigret #68) , Ros Schwartz (translator) will go on sale 6 June 2019 (pre-ordered)
  5. Maigret’s Childhood Friend (Inspector Maigret #69) Shaun Whiteside (translator) will go on sale 4 July 2019
  6. Maigret and the Killer (Inspector Maigret #70) Shaun Whiteside (translator) will go on sale 1 August 2019
  7. Maigret and the Wine Merchant (Inspector Maigret #71) Ros Schwartz (translator) will go on sale 5 September 2019
  8. Maigret’s Madwoman (Inspector Maigret #72) Sian Reynold (translator) will go on sale 3 October 2019
  9. Maigret and the Loner (Inspector Maigret #73) will go on sale 7 November 2019
  10. Maigret and the Informer (Inspector Maigret #74) will go on sale 5 December 2019
  11. Maigret and Monsieur Charles (Inspector Maigret #75) Ros Schwartz (translator) will go on sale 9 January 2020.

Agatha Christie – Poirot

  1. The Clocks first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club on 7 November 1963 and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company the following year. (On my TBR pile)
  2. Third Girl first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club in November 1966 and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company the following year. (On my TBR pile)
  3. Hallowe’en Party first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club in November 1969 and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company later in the same year. (On my TBR pile)
  4. Elephants Can Remember first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club in November 1972 and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company later in the same year. (On my TBR pile)
  5. Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case first published in the UK by the Collins Crime Club in September 1975 and in the US by Dodd, Mead and Company later in the same year. (On my TBR pile)

The Golden Age of Detective Fiction – 2019 Conference at the British Library – From the Suggested Reading List

The Hollow Man by John Dickson Carr (On my TBR pile)
The Plague Court Murders by Carter Dickson
The Devil in Velvet by John Dickson Carr (On my TBR pile)
She Died a Lady by Carter Dickson READ
The Burning Court by John Dickson Carr
The Department of Queer Complaints by Carter Dickson

Tenant for Death by Cyril Hare (On my Wish List)
Suicide Excepted by Cyril Hare (On my Wish List)
Tragedy at Law by Cyril Hare (On my Wish List)
With a Bare Bodkin by Cyril Hare (On my TBR pile)
An English Murder by Cyril Hare (On my TBR pile)
He Should Have Died Hereafter by Cyril Hare
Best Detective Stories of Cyril Hare (On my TBR pile)

Dance of Death by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)
The Deadly Truth by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)
Who’s Calling? by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)
Cue for Murder by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)
Panic by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)
Through a Glass, Darkly by Helen McCloy (On my Wish List)

Bats in the Belfry by E. C. R. Lorac (On my TBR pile)
Murder by Matchlight by E. C. R. Lorac (On my TBR pile)
Fire in the Thatch by E. C. R. Lorac (On my TBR pile)
Murder in the Mill-Race by E. C. R. Lorac (On my TBR pile)

On My Radar: Japanese Crime and Detective Fiction

The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino (On my TBR pile)
Salvation of a Saint by Keigo Higashino (On my TBR pile)
Inspector Imanishi Investigates by Seicho Matsumoto (On my TBR pile)
The Black Lizard and Beast in the Shadows by Rampo Edogawa (On my TBR pile)
The Thief by Dumunori Nakamura (On my TBR pile)
The Tokyo Zodiac Murders by Soji Shimada (On my Wish List)
Six Four by Hideo Yokoyama (On my Wish List)

Miscellaneous

(Other books that caught my attention this month)

The Erasers by Alain Robbe-Grillet (On my Wish List)

The Name of the Rose
by Umberto Eco READ (On my TBR pile)

The New York Trilogy
by Paul Auster READ (On my TBR pile)

3 thoughts on “April Summary and Plans for May”

  1. I am impressed by this ambitious reading plan. Don’t know how you do all this. I hope you have time to sleep, eat and read your daily newspapers/newsblogs.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.